Subject: RE: What kind of training do you do?   Leave a comment

I received an inquiry from Amazon asking about the training that I do for my clients.
Here is my reply:

From: Bob Young [mailto:—@fifonetworks.com]
Sent: Friday, May 31, 2013 11:12 AM
To: —@amazon.com
Subject: RE: What kind of training do you do?

Barb,

Thank you for your inquiry!

I develop training to meet my clients’ needs. I have some existing courses, such as Intro to IPv6, and I can present any of those – but more often someone says to me, “Hey, we’re looking for a course in TLS and we can’t find one. Can you teach that?” The answer, of course, is yes. So I discuss with them what their objectives are. For example, someone who is writing web pages for a TLS-enabled server has different interests than the person who is designing the infrastructure or projecting changes in bandwidth requirements. Then, once I know the objectives and the time frame (2 hour introductory course? 2 day deep dive?), I put together a course outline. When the course outline is presented and approved, I develop the course and deliver it. During the process we also agree on price and scheduling.

I fly anywhere in the USA (internationally, no active war zones), so I can deliver the course to personnel in a variety of locations. Verizon Wireless likes to do it this way. T-Mobile has done this, but has also chosen to fly their people here for training. It makes no difference to me – bring the people here, or I go to them, either way is fine.

I’m happy to sign non-disclosure agreements if my clients have security concerns.

I had no trouble passing Microsoft’s security background check, and if Amazon has one, too, that’s fine with me.

In general, topics include:
Wireless technology (literally, anything wireless)
IETF protocols (i.e., RFCs)
Data management and policy
Bandwidth calculations, projections, and management
Troubleshooting methods (integrated with systems theory)

Many of the topics I work on with clients are better done as consulting meetings with a small group of people or an upper-level individual. Examples include:
Managing a distributed workforce
Data policy
Infrastructure policy
Security policy
Bandwidth policy
Extracting information from closed and open systems

I’ll never teach something I’m not qualified to teach; I don’t like failing and I don’t want to embarrass myself. So the best thing to do is check with me on a given need. I always enjoy a teleconference or video conference to discuss problems; we can determine together whether or not I’m a good fit for the project. And if I’m not, I may be able to recommend someone else.

Thanks,
–Bob Young

FIFO Networks
227 Bellevue Way NE #239 – Bellevue, WA 98004

253-693-8552 Direct, “Find Me Anywhere”

http://www.fifonetworks.com

Fast Information Flow Optimization.
FIFO Networks is a registered trade name of Peripheral Vision Communications, Inc.

Everything I have on the web – professional and personal – can be accessed from http://www.paxterrarum.com

Say something!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.